Just because cannabis is legal for adult use in Michigan doesn’t mean you can walk into a dispensary and buy in bulk. Like other states with legal cannabis, the Great Lakes State has purchase limits that restrict how much cannabis you can buy each visit. Here’s what you need to know before you head to your local dispensary.
In-state purchase limits for Michigan residents
The Michigan Cannabis Regulatory Agency controls cannabis purchase limits in the state. The agency maintains different purchase limits for medical patients and adult-use consumers. Here’s what you need to know as you plan your dispensary trip.
Purchase limits for medical cannabis patients
Medical cannabis patients can purchase up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis per day, up to a total of 10 ounces per month.
Purchase limits for adult-use consumers
Adult use consumers can purchase up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis per transaction, with a limit of 15 grams per transaction specifically for concentrates. The state hasn’t set a limit on the amount of cannabis you can purchase in a single day, though the regulations specify that adult use consumers may keep up to 10 ounces of cannabis in their home.
How much weed can a non-resident purchase in Michigan?
Adult non-residents can purchase just as much cannabis as a local Michigander can in an adult use dispensary. Michigan does, however, follow unique rules surrounding medical reciprocity, or honoring out-of-state medical cannabis cards. Unlike most other states that have state-wide rules about this, individual dispensaries in Michigan can decide whether they’ll recognize out-of-state medical cannabis cards. Iconic Wellness in Sturgis, MI recognizes out of state medical cannabis cards.
Purchase limits for out-of-state medical cannabis patients
The purchase limits set by an out-of-state patient’s home state apply. For example, if you’re visiting from New Jersey where the patient purchase limit is 3 ounces in a 30-day period, you can buy 3 ounces in Michigan. Since cannabis is legal for adults aged 21 and older, though, cardholders can also shop at adult-use dispensaries and get what they need.
Purchase limits for visiting adult-use consumers
Any adult over the age of 21, including out-of-state visitors, is permitted to purchase up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis per transaction. The possession limit of 2.5 ounces in public, as well as the 10 ounce limit in private residences, applies to everyone in the state, Michigander or not.
Can you go into a dispensary without a card?
Medical cannabis dispensaries in Michigan require a medical cannabis card to shop. Adult-use cannabis dispensaries in Michigan don’t require a medical cannabis card, but you do need government-issued photo ID to get in. Don’t forget your driver’s license, non-driver photo ID, or passport when coming to Iconic! We can’t let you in without a photo ID.
How is cannabis taxed in Michigan?
Shoppers pay a 6% sales tax at adult use dispensaries in Michigan. Additionally, the retailers are subject to a 10% excise tax.
In 2021, Michigan brought in a total of $111 million from the 10% excise tax on more than $1.1 billion of adult-use cannabis sales. A portion of that tax revenue is redistributed to local counties and municipalities to help fund K-12 education and transportation.
What are the cannabis possession laws in Michigan?
According to the Michigan Marihuana Act, patients who hold state-approved medical cannabis cards can have up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis and cannabis products. The following possession limits apply to medical cannabis patients and primary caregivers under Michigan laws:
- 16 ounces of cannabis-infused products in solid form
- 7 grams of cannabis-infused products in gaseous form
- 36 fluid ounces of cannabis-infused product
Adult-use consumers (21+) can have cannabis in their possession in Michigan within the following limits:
- Up to 10 ounces at home
- Up to 2.5 ounces outside of their home
- Up to 15 grams of cannabis concentrates
- Up to 12 cannabis plants at home
Any adult who possesses more than 2.5 ounces of cannabis in their home must store the excess in a secure container. Possession of more than 2.5 ounces could incur a $500 fine on first offense.
How much cannabis concentrate can I possess in Michigan?
In Michigan, consumers can have up to 15 grams of concentrate at any given time. The same amount can be purchased in a single transaction, but exceeding possession limits in public or private could lead to a fine.
Purchase with confidence at Iconic Wellness dispensaries
At Iconic Wellness, we take pride in providing high-quality flower, concentrates, edibles, and more to medical patients and adult-use consumers in the Great Lakes State. With dispensaries in Sturgis, Gaylord, Lowell, and more to come, we’re conveniently located to major highways and bustling cities. We’re also known for deli-style cannabis, where you can select your own bud straight from the jar. Take the trip and come see us at one of our cannabis dispensaries in Michigan and find out why we’re “The Best Joint Around.”